National Academies 2018 Communication Awards Announced

In August, The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine announced its 2018 Communication Awards recipients. The awards have been recognizing “excellence in reporting and communicating science, engineering, and medicine to the general public” since the 2003 inception of the Keck Futures Initiative. The awards are supported by the W. M. Keck Foundation.

Dan Egan’s The Death and Life of the Great Lakes, an analysis of the Great Lakes and “the unintended consequences of short-sighted management decisions,” won the Best Book Award.

Winning the film/radio/television category were Emer Reynolds, John Murray, and Clare Stronge (Crossing the Line Productions) with Sean B. Carroll and John Rubin (HHMI Tangled Bank Studios) for their account of NASA’s Voyager mission, “The Farthest–Voyager in Space.”

Science Magazine writers Ann Gibbons, Emily Underwood, Jennifer Couzin-Frankel, and John Bohannon and deputy news editor Elizabeth Culotta won the Newspaper/Magazine Award for a set of stories on human migration: “Busting Myths of Origin,” “The Pain of Exile,” “Battling Bias,” and “Restless Minds.”

The online category was won by Nina Martin, Adriana Gallardo, and Annie Waldman (ProPublica) with Renee Montagne (NPR) for their series about the disproportionate incidence of maternal deaths in the United States, “Lost Mothers.”

For more about the awards program and to see the finalists in each category, read the NAS release.


This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.