Contributors: The LWA1 Radio Observatory has been a long time in the making: The project to design and build LWA1 began formally in 2007 and was led by the University of New Mexico (UNM), who also developed analog receivers and the shelter and site infrastructure systems. The system architecture was developed by Virginia Tech (VT), who also developed LWA1’s monitor & control and data recording systems. Key elements of LWA1’s design were guided by experience gained from a prototype stub system project known as the Long Wavelength Demonstrator Array, developed by the U.S. Naval Research Laboratory (NRL) and the University of Texas at Austin (York et al. 2007); and by VT’s Eight-meter wavelength Transient Array (ETA; Deshpande 2009). NRL developed LWA1’s active antennas, and NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) developed LWA1’s digital processing system.

Here is a no-doubt incomplete attempt to identify those who have contributed to the development of the LWA1 Radio Observatory:  Steve Burns, Joe Craig, Tracy Clarke, Aaron Cohen, Larry D’Addario, Sunil Danthuluri, Jayce Dowell, Steve Ellingson, Bill Erickson, Albino Gallardo, Walter Gerstle, Sudipta Ghorai, Aaron Gibson, Eduard Gonzalez, Jake Hartman, Mahmud Harun, Brian Hicks, Bryan Jacoby, Ted Jaeger, Namir Kassim, Aaron Kerkhoff, Justin Linford, Qian Liu, Adam Martinez, Robert Navarro, Nagini Paravastu, Ylva Pihlstrom, Paul Ray, Lee J Rickard, Frank Schinzel, Henrique Schmitt, Elliot Sigman, Melissa Soriano, Abirami Srinivasan, D. Wyatt Taylor III, Greg Taylor, Chenoa Tremblay, Steve Tremblay, Sushrutha Vigraham, Duo Wang, Kurt Weiler, Chris Wolfe, Dan Wood.

Recent Posts

  1. Apr 17, 2013: Updates Leave a reply
  2. Jan 26: Updates Leave a reply
  3. Aug 24: Updates Leave a reply
  4. July 6: Status Update, Minor Edits Leave a reply
  5. Apr 24: Instrument Status Update, minor edits Leave a reply